Duke Ophthalmology Residents Receive Best Paper Awards at ASCRS

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Samuel Passi, MD, PGY3 and Mark Goerlitz-Jessen, MD, PGY2 each received Best Paper of Session (BPOS) Awards at the 2019 American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS)  annual meeting held May 3-7 in San Diego, CA.   

BPOS awards are highly competitive and based on scientific merit, originality, and adherence to time limits.  Recipients are chosen at the end of each physicians program paper session by the moderator and panelists.

Samuel Passi, MD
Session title: Intraoperative Aberrometry 
Paper Title: Refractive Outcomes Using Intraoperative Aberrometry for Highly Myopic, Highly Hyperopic, and Post-Refractive Eyes 
Co-Authors: Michelle J. Kim, MD; Atalie C. Thompson, MD; Nikolas N. Raufi, MD; Terry Kim, MD; Preeya K. Gupta, MD
Mark Goerlitz Jessen, MD
Session title: Pterygium, Salzmann's, and Neoplasia 
Paper Title: The Impact of Epithelial Basement Membrane Dystrophy and Salzmann Nodular Degeneration on Biometry Measurements 
Co-authors:  Preeya Gupta, MD; Terry Kim, MD