Fekrat Inducted into Retina Hall of Fame

Wednesday, December 15, 2021

Congratulations to Sharon Fekrat, MD, FACS, FASRS on being inducted into the Retina Hall of Fame (RHOF) as part of the 2020-2021 class! The RHOF is a nonprofit, international organization of peers, established in 2016, to recognize and honor the lifetime achievements of innovators and leaders, throughout the world of retina, who have devoted their careers to innovation, research, and clinical care of vitreoretinal diseases and medical treatments, vitreoretinal surgery and surgical concepts, macular diseases and treatments, diagnostic and surgical instrumentation, political and societal leadership within retina/ophthalmology, unique educational achievements, extraordinary impactful research endeavors, and other exceptional contributions to the field of retina. The RHOF selection committee strongly feels that Dr. Fekrat's outstanding contributions to the field of retina have distinguished her among the “giants” in the history of retina and should be recognized as a member of this esteemed group. Her induction was announced during the RHOF segment of the Retina World Congress on December 12, 2021. Duke faculty Cynthia Toth, MD and Glenn J. Jaffe, MD are also members of RHOF.