Vitreoretinal Disease

Leaders in Vitreoretinal Research, Education and Patient Care

Cynthia Toth in OR The Duke Vitreoretinal Division is an active clinical research, education and patient care unit within the Department of Ophthalmology at Duke University School of Medicine.  

The division comprises fellowship-trained vitreoretinal specialists, including vitreoretinal surgeons, and medical retina specialists, who together are able to evaluate and treat the full range of vitreoretinal diseases. Within this faculty group, individuals have national and international reputations for their specific areas of expertise and interest. 

The vitreoretinal faculty has been recognized for their achievements through numerous National and International Awards, such as the Alcon Research Institute Award, Senior Honor Award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the Rosenthal Macula Society Award, the Hartwell Foundation Research Award, the German Ophthalmological Society Uveitis award, Mooney Medal of the Irish Ophthalmological Society and others. The faculty is often invited to give named lectureships at top-tier ophthalmology programs, and to give keynote talks at national and international meetings.

As a group, the vitreoretinal division publishes extensively in top quality ophthalmology journals, and in high impact factor journals including New England Journal of Medicine, Science and PNAS, to describe novel basic science, translational, and clinical research findings.