Divisions and Centers

The Duke Department of Ophthalmology is made up of eight divisions, offering every sub-specialty in ophthalmology.   Each division consists of faculty physicians and many include investigators. Often times, our faculty collaborate across Duke University and the School of Medicine for patient care and research initiatives.  We invite you to learn more about the outstanding contributions to research, education, and patient care each of our divisions offer. 

Age-Related Macular Degeneration

Age-Related Macular Degeneration (AMD) is the leading cause of central vision loss in the Western world in persons over the age of 55. The Duke Center for Macular Diseases offers state-of-the-art diagnostic, medical, and surgical care, as well as low vision rehabilitation services.

Read More

Comprehensive Ophthalmology

The Comprehensive Ophthalmology Division offers evaluation and treatment, from routine eye exams to urgent eye care.

Learn More

Cornea, External Disease, and Refractive Surgery

The Cornea, External Disease, and Refractive Surgery Division offers patient care over the complete spectrum of medical and surgical problems involving the cornea and other anterior structures of the eye.

Read More

Duke Pediatric Retina and Optic Nerve Center (DPROC)

A center of excellence dedicated to helping infants and children improve eye and brain health, offering unique diagnostic and research capabilities for assessment of pediatric eye and brain development and diseases.

Learn More


The Duke Ophthalmology Glaucoma Division is an international leader in research, education, and clinical care. Our internationally-recognized glaucoma faculty are committed to preserving and restoring sight, training the next generation of glaucoma specialists, and providing world-class clinical care. The Glaucoma Division offers the most advanced treatment available including canaloplasty and all other forms of laser or incisional surgery.

Read More

Global Ophthalmology Program


The Duke University Department of Ophthalmology has reached beyond borders for decades to offer urgently needed comprehensive and specialty ophthalmic care to people throughout the world.  Teams spend days or weeks in-country, providing screenings, medical and surgical care, and follow-up. Collaborations with partners during these missions often lead to global research opportunities and the ability to improve future patient care. 


The Neuro-Ophthalmology Division is dedicated to excellence in the diagnosis of eye disorders that accompany neurological disease and disease of the optic nerve and eye muscles. 

Read More

Ocular Immunology

Oculofacial and Orbital Surgery

The Oculofacial (oculoplastics and reconstructive surgery) Division is dedicated to excellence in the diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the eyelids, the lacrimal systems (tear ducts), and the orbit (eye socket). This service offers cosmetic/laser surgery at the Duke Center for Aesthetic Services.

Learn More

Ophthalmic Oncology

Providing the latest care for primary ocular tumors, the Ophthalmic Oncology Center at Duke Eye Center implements an extensive approach to the diagnosis and treatment of various eye cancers.

Learn More

Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus

The Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Division offers the latest diagnostic tests and treatments of children's eye disease, as well as muscle disorders in adults.

Read More

Retinal Degenerations and Genetics

Vision Rehabilitation and Performance

The Duke Vision Rehabilitation Division offers comprehensive vision rehabilitation through a multi-disciplinary team of health care providers for patients who have lost vision to age-related macular degeneration, glaucoma, stroke, diabetes, and other eye diseases. 

Read More

Vitreoretinal Disease

Duke Vitreoretinal Disease (VR) Division has a reputation for delivering a superior care and achieving optimal outcomes for patients diagnosed with conditions and diseases of the retina, macula and vitreous. The division boasts a dynamic team of physicians with unrivaled expertise, access to the latest imaging and technology, a commitment to excellence in patient care, a thriving research program, and unparalleled camaraderie between physicians, trainees and staff.

Read More